Who We Are

The Digital Public Goods Alliance is a multi-stakeholder UN-endorsed initiative that facilitates the discovery and deployment of open-source technologies, bringing together countries and organisations to create a thriving global ecosystem for digital public goods and helping to achieve the sustainable development goals.

The DPGA is governed by a board, which functions as a strategic decision-making and oversight body for the DPGA Secretariat. The board consists of member-organisations who demonstrate a strong commitment to digital public goods and are committed to supporting the DPGA’s mission and mandate. Current board members include the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), the Government of Sierra Leone, the Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation (Norad), iSPIRT, UNDP, and UNICEF.

The DPGA also relies on engagement and leadership from a broad membership and stakeholder community. We use a Roadmap as a coordination, alignment, engagement, and communication tool to capture the activities of DPGA members working to significantly advance the four DPGA strategic objectives described in the 5 year strategy. 

Our current membership includes: the six members of the board; the Government of Bangladesh; Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation; data.org; Digital Impact Alliance; eGov Foundation; EkStep Foundation; the Government of Ethiopia; the Government of Guatemala; Food and Agriculture Organization; Foundation for Public Code; GitHub; UN Global Pulse; India’s Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology; UN Office of Information and Communications Technology; Inter-American Development Bank; International Telecommunication Union; Omidyar Network; the Open Source Initiative; Digital Square at PATH; the Republic of Estonia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs; The Rockefeller Foundation; Rwanda’s Ministry of ICT and Innovation; The Government of Sri Lanka; Thoughtworks; the Uganda Ministry of ICT and National Guidance; the Office of the Secretary-General’s Envoy on Technology; and USAID.